THE TRUE YOU Day 4

Poem A Day:

I chose this song for today because the themes are applicable to today’s lesson. There are political views in this song but I made a disclaimer that they do not necessarily represent my views- and when we discussed the song, I focused on the themes that the song shares with American Born Chinese.
This verse is particularly applicable to today’s lesson:

 

“Sometimes I speak and I feel like it ain’t my words

Like I’m just a vessel channeling inside this universe

I feel my ancestors arrested inside of me

It’s like they want me to shoot my chance and change society

But how do I go about it? Tell me where I start?

My destiny rerouted when I chose to follow heart

You told to follow suit, but tell me what it do for you?

Except weigh you down, now you trapped inside the cubicle they built for us

The first step in the change is to take notice”

Mini-lesson:

Today we read Kevin Wong’s blog “The Realest Comic About Growing Up Asian American, And Hating Yourself.”

We discussed Kevin’s methods of literary analysis and tied his thoughts to the ones students recorded about the book in our last class. 

Next, we watched this Op-Doc “A Conversation with Asian Americans on Race”.

I summarized this podcast for students and I am posting it here for them to listen to for extension.

Finally, we watched the first episode of “Fresh of the Boat.” 

Active Engagement:

Students worked in groups to make posters comparing American Born Chinese to “Fresh off the Boat.” They could also pull in any other text we have read this year to extend their discussion of the themes of these stories/characters.

Closure:

We shared posters and wrapped up our discussion of American Born Chinese. 

Leave a Reply

