THE TRUE YOU Day 1

Poem A Day:

 

Mini-lesson:

Today, I really wanted students to be able to see the improvement I saw during our writing conferences. So, they engaged in this reflection activity which called on them to read four of their major essays this year. Listening to them as they read their earliest work was priceless. The growth was immediately apparent to them.

Active Engagement:

Students got onto chromebooks and began working on their reflections- nearly all students were on task. Their answers made me get all misty-eyed. They have come so far this year!

Closure:

Celebrated our successes!

Here are some great quotes from this reflection:

 

How has your writing changed this year, specifically? Compare and contrast the papers from the beginning of the year versus the end of the year. What changes can you see? How did those changes come about? What does that tell you about yourself and how you learn?

My first paper, I have to admit, I went on to this website to find a list of themes, and I found one that most suited my poem. Now my last paper, It was the book and me that came up with the ideas. (Of course some of the ideas came from the seminar). These changes came about when I started to look at the text, and essentially think about the text with my mind. I used to filter my ideas through the teacher (Ms. Minto) instead of just going with my gut. It tells me that I lost most of my “writing insecurities” and learned to love what I put down on the paper.

What have you learned about writing this year?

I have learned that writing is the most comprehensive, analytical, complex form of “language” there is. We can interpret life a million different ways in our brains. But, when we put that pen to the paper and use our dialect to make words and stuff, it’s able to penetrate someone’s thoughts. Then using your thoughts, and their own. They themselves can make a new text, and it’s the endless cycle of like amazingness.

 

How has your writing changed this year, specifically? Compare and contrast the papers from the beginning of the year versus the end of the year. What changes can you see? How did those changes come about? What does that tell you about yourself and how you learn?

 

Throughout the course of this year, my writing has completely transformed. From my first assignment about the song “Wings,” that contained many incomplete sentences, spelling errors, and unfinished ideas, to my final paper about Macbeth with multiple complete paragraphs, in depth ideas, and hardly any errors in punctuation or spelling. These changes came about because as the year went on, I learned many ways to improve my thoughts and not just write them down. I learned to then take those ideas and make them into something greater. To let them flourish and let each idea lead me to a whole new understanding. This tells me that I learn through repetition and creative thinking. Ms. Minto, you took unusual assignments and fun concepts, and tied them in with whatever lesson we were learning at the time. You made us learn without realizing we were learning. You made it possible to have a successful year that didn’t mentally, physically, or emotionally drain me.

What have you learned about writing this year?

This year I’ve learned that writing isn’t a chore. It isn’t a punishment. It’s something used as a tool to make you a better and smarter as a human being. If you put effort into each and every paper you write, you’ll get the results you want.

 

From the mouths of babes! Wonderful progress this year. I am too happy.

giphy

Leave a Reply

