MACBETH Day 3

MACBETH Day 3

Poem A Day:

For today’s class, I am the poem a day.

So this one is not for everyone- lol. But if you are into drama, then this lesson is for you!

I never wear makeup. It’s a thing. No one talks about it. No one notices. But, when you put a bunch of dark lipstick and eyeliner on, kids notice.

My students walked into a creepy world today. I was sitting in the middle of the room, on a chair, in full costume. This was playing on my smartboard in the background.

The students, were super creeped out and excited! I cannot tell you how much fun it was to see their reactions. They said things like:

Oh my god!

What is happening!?

Ms. Minto is ridiculous

This is my life.

English class is my life

This is the best day ever

I, personally, love to get a rise out of students, who can be a dangerous mix of lethargic and cynical these days.

Once the bell rang, and the song on the smartboard ended, I arranged for a student from another class to enter the room, and hand me a letter. He told me it was a letter from Macbeth.

The students got quiet.

And I read Macbeth’s letter aloud.

And then, I performed Lady Macbeth’s monologue from Act I scene 5 from memory.

Mini-lesson:

We reviewed the action of the play up until scene 5. Then students tried to figure out what just happened in front of them.

Active Engagement:

I gave students this handout which asks them to attempt to decode the scene I performed for them. I had them work in partners to write the gist of each chunk of text.

Then as a class, we went through together to piece it all together.

Then we watched three different film interpretations of this scene of Lady Macbeth.

Closure:

It is poetry week at our school, so for that, students wrote haikus about Lady Macbeth. They captured her well, which leads me to believe they “got it”.

Leave a Reply

