NF UNIT P2 Days 12-13

Poem A Day:

No time for Poems on this day. Students are presenting their projects!!

Mini-lesson:

I originally planned one day for students to share their presentations. I mean, our classes are 80 minutes. Surely, that is enough time for 20 presentations.

Wrong.

Students WILDLY EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS FOR THIS PROJECT.

I mean, really, I am still completely blown away. I wish I had recorded a few of the presentations that still have my mind spinning.

One student gave a “Ted Talk” and the students in his class were rapt. There was an applause when he finished. Please read his words: They are gorgeous. I am also attaching the images he used while presenting-

Active Engagement:

Students listened to their peers

 

Closure:

After students were finished presenting, I gave students this reflection form.

Here are some of the responses I got on this reflection. This is real evidence of learning. When a student can articulate clearly what they have learned, that means they have learned it. (my capacity for logic is, frighteningly impressive, I know).

unnamed (3)
This one made me proud. From the mouths of babes. “I learned more in 19 presentations than I have learned throughout the whole year in science.” Notice, she quotes one talk, and references several others. She paid attention- and I did not force them to, via some handout.
1
Yep.
2
Nice.
3
Double check!
unnamed (1)
Do your research, yanno, so you don’t embarrass yourself with misinformation! It’s practical.
unnamed (2)
Authentic learning and understanding takes TIME. Nice conclusion.
unnamed (4)
blamo.

unnamed

Leave a Reply

