NF UNIT P2 Day 11

Day 11

Poem A Day:

 

I chose this song because it inspires the Ted Talk I am working on for this project.

Lyrics are here. 

Mini-lesson:

Today’s objective is: Students will share their projects with peers in small groups so they can develop, clarify and strengthen their ideas.

 

I asked students to have their rough drafts ready today to share in small groups. So, I had to have my Ted talk rough draft ready.

One of the lessons I learned in this unit, and I hope my students will learn, is if you want to do something well, you have to put a lot of time, thought, energy, and effort into that something. And then, you still may not be able to meet your own expectations. But- you may exceed someone else’s.

Anyway, I read my rough draft to the students and showed them my work-in-progress-slideshow. I gathered their suggestions, and ideas, and told them my game plan for finishing this bad boy by Monday.

 Active Engagement:

Students shared their rough drafts in groups of three. They all worked to strengthen their ideas and make sure they were being clear. Final drafts and presentations are due Monday. I secured the school’s theater for presentations, so that is pretty epic and exciting! I will have to take pictures and post them 🙂

Closure

Students share out improvements they will make as a result of today’s work.

Leave a Reply

