TKAMB P1 Day 5

Day 5

Vanilla Ice: Stop, collaborate and listen graphic design

Kids were starting to get bored with reading during class. Shocker. It really bothers me when kids are bored, so I stepped up my game. The rest of this unit is stellar, in my opinion. And, the data suggests it was wildly successful.

Poem-A-Day

“I Get Out” by Lauryn Hill Connect the song to the novel. Share out.

Mini-lesson

Introduce today’s collaborative project.

At this point in the novel, students are intimately familiar with the main characters of the novel and they understand the main conflicts. I find that chapters 12-16 do not move the story along too much, but are certainly too valuable to skip out-right.

So, I devised this collaborative activity. 

Active Engagement

Students worked on chromebooks in class, in small groups (3-4) that I assigned. I posted the assignment to Google Classroom.

Closure

The presentations are due next class- we will have a quiz as a whole class on all five chapters based on the information presented. (I made the quizzes the day of the presentation).

Leave a Reply

