NF UNIT P1 Day 6

Day 6

Related image

Poem A Day:

None- wasn’t feeling inspired… still can’t think of anything… AGAIN. (gotta say, I secretly love how much the kids want poems, and how disappointed they are when I don’t come up with one).

Mini-lesson:

Today is another revision day. This time, the objective is: Students will revise drafts for structure and organization. Again we used this checklist. This time, students focused on the “Structure” section.

Again, they summarized in bullets on the left side of their checklists. And I distributed a second draft of my essay.  I made clear how my draft changed by highlighting everything I changed or added to develop my ideas more (as they were to do last class). We read it together and decided that it was poorly organized and lacked transitions.

Active Engagement:

Students got into pairs and I gave each pair scissors, a glue stick and blank paper. They had to decide how to reorganize my essay by literally cutting it up and pasting it in a new order. They also had markers to write in transition phrases.

The kids had fun with this one.

After the students were done (this took about 40 minutes) I revealed my third draft, and talked about why I chose to organize it the way I did. I also told them I would revise it a final time before I was done.

Closure

We reviewed this doc to recap the work students have done so far. Students were directed to revise their essays one final time paying attention to organization and structure. This was the end of the week and their final drafts were due Monday.

Leave a Reply

